Results for

As per our instructions from Il Pirata, MFS went ahead and made a suite of Pantheon for Speed t-shirts with Sam Taylor’s illustrations. We also did a little research on the PFS with Klaus starting with The Cannibal, who is team captain. Based on what we found, that’s no surprise.

Born into a family of “traveling clothiers”, De Vlaeminck excelled in the spring classics. He won Paris-Roubaix four times, Milan-San Remo three times, and Omloop Het Volk twice. He won all the monuments, but stage races suited him too. He won Tirreno-Adriatico six times, along with twenty-two Giro stages—all while sporting glorious sideburns that made Brendan and Dylan from 90210 look like the boys they were.

These days, “The Gypsy” has slowed down, a bit, and rightly so. He became the spokesperson for the now-shuttered Hair and Beauty Clinic in Belgium, where he was the recipient of a hair transplant (online ads read “I do not like losing, so when I lost my hair I got a transplant from the Hair and Beauty Clinic. Now I feel like a winner again!”).

By all accounts, De Vlaeminck’s bike handling skills and strength on the bike were otherworldly. As was his luck: he raced for ten years as a professional before having his first puncture during a race. If scientists tried to create a cyclist who was perfectly suited for cobbled classics, they’d create De Vlaeminck.


  • b. 24 August 1947 in Eeklo, Belgium
  • Professional Career: Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger, 1969–71; Dreher, 1972; Brooklyn, 1973–77; Sanson, 1978; Gis Gelati, 1979; Boule d’Or, 1980; DAF Trucks-Cote d’Or-Gazelle, 1981–82; Gios, 1983; Gis-Tuc Lu, 1984



  • Tour de France Stage Win: 1, 1970
  • Giro d’Italia PC: 1972, 1974, 1975
  • Giro d’Italia Stage Wins: 22, 1972–79
  • Vuelta a España Stage Win: 1, 1984
  • Tirreno-Adriatico GC: 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977
  • Omloop Het Volk: 1969, 1979
  • Liège–Bastogne–Liège: 1970
  • Paris–Roubaix: 1972, 1974, 1975, 1977
  • Milan–San Remo: 1973, 1978, 1979
  • Giro di Lombardia: 1974, 1976
  • Tour of Flanders: 1977
  • World Cyclo-cross Championships: 1975
next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next      next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next     next